Towing Equipment Search:

Florida Bans Texting While Driving

Nov 11th, 2013 | By | Category: Spotlight

Florida Bans Texting While DrivingAs of October 1st, Florida motorists face a $30 fine for texting while driving. The law makes it a secondary offense, meaning a police officer cannnot pull someone over solely for texting, but motorists can be fined if they commit another violation such as not wearing a seatbelt or speeding.

Texting while driving is a major factor of distracted driving, which endangers tow truck drivers as well as other emergency responders on the roadside.

Motorists can talk on their phones, but not text. They may text while stopped at traffic lights. The law only applies when the vehicle is in motion.

A second texting while driving offense will carry a fine of $60, and being involved in a traffic accident while unlawfully using a cell phone will result in six points being added to the offender’s license.

Florida is now the 41st state to ban texting while driving.